Latest News

Concerning Violence wins Guldbagge

Concerning Violence was awarded with the Swedish Film Award (Guldbaggen) for Best Documentary 2014.

Director Göran Hugo Olsson was at the ceremony to receive the award. 

Watch the live stream of the ceremony here (Göran's acceptance speech at 58:50).

  29 Jan, 2015

I am Dublin first screening

The film will be at the Gothenburg Film Festival, Saturday the 24:th of January, at 15.00 at Bio Roy. More screenings in Gothenburg: Sunday: 25/1 12.45 Biopalatset 4. Monday: 26/1 21.30, Biopalatset 2. Thuesday: 27/1 17.30, Frölunda kulturhus

http://filmweb01.filmfestival.org/

"I am Dublin" is a documentary beginning in a fictional story. The film portrays Ahmed who is playing a character whose life mirrors his own life. Ahmed finds himself in a limbo. The diabolical Dublin Regulation determines his life.

 

  22 Jan, 2015

Concerning Violence opens i NYC and LA.

Göran Hugo Olsson's profound essay doc aspires to upset in the truest sense. As its vintage footage of the cruelties of colonial life shocks and disgusts, its narration -- excerpts from Frantz Fanon's thundering 1961 text The Wretched of the Earth -- demands that Western viewers fundamentally upset their conceptions of everything. A commanding indictment of the exploitative nature of geopolitics, and of Europe's and the U.S.'s abuse of native peoples around the world, Concerning Violence pairs up hard truths from Fanon -- Lauryn Hill reads his words, each blunt and burning like a cigarette she's putting out in your ear -- with damnable scenes shot in colonized countries in the 1960s, '70s, and '80s.

 There are revelations here for everyone, but this definitely should be seen by every white American who shares MLK quotes on Facebook to tell black Americans to stop protesting.
Alan Scherstuhl

The Village Voice
"Pick of the Week"

  25 Dec, 2014

Crowdfunding launch

Today is the launch for the crowd funding campaign to make the film Fonko.

You can participate in the making of Fonko, the movie! Today is the launch day for the crowd funding campaign. Supporters will get gifts, credits and our eternal gratitude!

Visit the page here:

wemakeit.com/projects/fonko

  10 Dec, 2014

Wanlov the Kubulor, en av Ghanas mest kontroversiella artister.

Premiär för Fonko på SVT2

20 september kl 19.00 har Fonko premiär på SVT2. Fonko är en serie om det nya Afrika sett genom storstadsmusiken. Berättare är Neneh Cherry.

Vår tids stora musikaliska revolution pågår just nu i Afrika och påverkar hundratals miljoner människor. Kuduro, coupé-décalé och azonto är klubbmusik byggd på traditionella rytmer och har blivit identitetsbärande för en hel generation. Fonko är en dokumentärserie om musik och dramatisk samhällsomvandling.

Medan Sydeuropa står på ruinens brant är länder som Angola, Ghana, Nigeria och Zambia bland världens snabbast växande ekonomier. Den hastiga moderniseringen innebär minskad fattigdom, men också ökande inkomstklyftor, sekularisering och konflikter mellan tradition och modernitet. Allt det här speglas i musiken.
I Fonko får man träffa de smartaste och roligaste artisterna, bloggarna och producenterna i deras hemmiljöer. I kåkstäder, lyxvillor och på scen.

En tv-serie av Lamin Daniel Jadama, Lars Lovén, Göran Hugo Olsson och Tobias Janson.
Berättad av Neneh Cherry

  11 Sep, 2014

Watch online and buy our films here.

About Story

Story is a company producing documentaries for television and cinema. Story consists of filmmakers and producers. Read more

Mia Engberg mia@story.se

Göran Olsson goran@story.se

David Aronowitsch david@story.se

Hanna Heilborn hanna@story.se

Tobias Janson tobias@story.se

Annika Rogell annika@story.se

Gabriella Bier gabriella@story.se

Ragnhild Ekner ragnhildekner@hotmail.com

Jacob Frössén jacob@jacobfrossen.com

Anna Persson annapersson@story.se

Marius Dybwad Brandrud mariusedb@gmail.com

Sharre/Sharmarke Binyusuf sharre@story.se

Ahmed Abdullahi ahmed.rodbetong@gmail.com

Sophie Vukovic sophie@story.se

Babak Parham babak@story.se

Lars Lovén larsloven@story.se

Daniel Jadama daniel@story.se

Fia-Stina Sandlund fiastinas@telia.com

Sanna Lenken sannalenken@gmail.com

Daniel Jonsäter dino@story.se